Books to Enchant You

Standard

I truly believe the reason Jesus has brought so much healing to my heart and soul is that he loves and adores me. He has romanced me and pursued me through so many ways, but one of the ways dearest to my heart is through books.

“A book must be the axe for the frozen sea inside us”  Franz Kafka

My sister Shanna has been encouraging me to make a compilation of these books for the blog. I am going to do a few at a time because I do not want to overwhelm anyone. The author that I am going to share with you has been the dearest author to my heart. Her stories have literally brought so much joy to me in ways I find rather difficult to explain other than she must speak the language of my heart. I have passages meticulously copied from her books all through my journal. And so I introduce to you Marlena De BLasi. Her stories of her hearts journey will touch you, challenge you, delight you, inspire you, and make you shed a few tears. When I started reading her books I got the third one in the series, I had know idea it was the third one until I got about a third of the way in to the book. I had gotten it at the library because I thought it looked like a good read. Then I went to the library again, and got the first two in the series out from the library loan program. While I waited I read the fourth one because our library had it available. I read the first one two days, it was delicious, hopeful, romantic beyond words, real, scandalous, and utterly brave. I was smitten by them all, and find my self wanting to be like this woman, who lives so shamelessly from her heart. The four memoirs are based on her life, so be prepared to realize amazing things can happen in the everyday, and be prepared for your heart to take flight, as you come to know a woman who really lives life in all its beauty, battle, and adventure.

” A Thousand Days in Venice”

” A Thousand Days in Tuscany”

” The Lady in the Palazzo”

” That Summer in Sicily”

” We read books to find out who we are. What other people, real or imaginary, do and think and feel is an essential guide to our understanding of what we ourselves are and may become.” Ursula K. Leguin

” Good books are like good friends you can never have to many” Lucy Maud Montgomery

I also encourage you to get the following films they will help to give you a visual of the Italian countryside, and the beautiful cities as well.

A Room With a View-a  Merchant Ivory Film

Roseanna

Letters to Juliet

The Tourist

Amy Dorritt-a BBC adaptation of the Dickens novel, starring Matthew Mcfadyen, also known as Mr Darcy

Summertime

Only You

Enchanted April

God Bless,

-Starla

 
Leave a Reply

