Security and Adventure…Oil and Water

Standard

They just don’t mix…do they?

My husband and I are in the process of buying a house. We are also in the process of selling our current home in which we have spent the last eleven years together…fixing up, remodeling, and building a life together. My husband carried me over the threshold of this house on our wedding day. I studied my way through college in this house. We brought our precious two baby boys home to this house.  There is literally not one square inch of this house that we have not painted or improved or that isn’t touched by some memory we have made over the course of time. There is safety in this house…security…

And yet, over the last couple of years, we have spent hours upon hours just dreaming up the possibilities of a life in the country, far from the hustle and bustle. We live in a nice little neighborhood but the houses are so close together and sometimes I have felt so hemmed in…by people, cars, activity…I grew up in the country and I have really missed the peace and tranquility of that setting.

So our dream was to have plenty of room for our boys to hunt, camp, shoot, ride 4-wheelers and experience danger and adventure just like every boy longs to experience.  We have looked at several properties this year and even tried to make an offer on a 17 1/2 acre plot of land which did not work out. That was tough because I honestly thought that was what God wanted for us…well, at least I thought that was what I wanted at the time…

So our plan was to get our house ready to put on the market in the spring next year and then we would really begin our new home search in earnest. We had a plan set in place and I took comfort in knowing that I had at least six months to mentally prepare myself to let go of my home that I have poured my heart into for the last eleven years. However, you know what they say…the best way to make God laugh is to tell Him your plans….

About a month ago, I was on a real estate website when a charming house caught my eye. It was lovely and Chris and I fell in love with it from the first moment we saw it. It fit the bill for everything that we had been dreaming about. It was perfect.

Everything has been a whirlwind from that point, but here we are a month later and our house is sold and we sign papers to close on our new house in the country this Friday. God has had His hand on every detail every step of the way. We put our house on the market in the fall when generally no one is buying, in a market that makes it even harder to sell than ever. Isn’t it funny how those things don’t seem to matter to the God of the universe? =)

So now we find ourselves facing a new chapter in our lives. The house we are moving to is nestled on 14 1/2 rolling, tree covered acres with a long driveway and a beautiful view…so what in the world is my problem???

I am scared.

Can I let go of my security in exchange for the hope of a life filled with adventure and uncertainty…do i have the faith to trust my Father in heaven to provide for us and to take care of us? Has He ever NOT come through for us???

I have spent a lot of time reflecting over the last several weeks of this home-buying/selling process. I grew up in Ohio with my parents and four sisters. God saw fit to move me one thousand miles away from home to the south country of northeast Louisiana. Fear has always been my constant companion and yet God has done some pretty amazing things with this timid little soul.  But you know, that was 12 1/2 years ago…I was young and naive and frankly had no hope and no prospects at home. I look back and  I just see blind faith, the vigor of youth and not a whole lot to lose. It is different this time. We have the boys now and a beautiful home that is completely remodeled. Times are uncertain, the economy is a mess…are we crazy???

Here’s the deal (preaching at myself…) God called Abraham out of Ur…He allowed Joseph to be sold as a slave and then placed him in a position of great authority in Egypt…Moses (with whom I have always felt a special kinship) was called to lead the Israelites out of Egypt in spite of  his inadequacies…the Bible is FULL of people who God called out of their happy, safe, secure little lives into a much broader, vast and epic story.

So I choose adventure…knowing that my Abba Father holds my life and the lives of my precious family in the palm of His hand. He has called us to greater things than just security. He has called us to a life full and abundant. I know that there is risk involved, I know that there will be opposition from the Thief who seeks only to steal, kill and destroy. But I trust in the One who is in me…and greater is He who is in me than he who is in this world. The Lord is a warrior, Yahweh is His name! The battle belongs to Him. He is in control and His blessings are lavish and abundant.  I thank you and I praise you, Lord Jesus…you are worthy!!!!

~Shanna

3 responses »

  1. Shanna… God just increased your territory! What a blessing that He trusts you and Chris that much! I love you and can’t wait to see what more God has in store for you and your precious family! Auntie

Leave a Reply

