Confessions of a Dry Bird…

Standard

This is kind of a cooking lesson…of sorts…meaning, it’s more about what NOT to do–then consequently–what TO DO once you’ve gone and done it….

I had an all day project I was working on yesterday. As most of us know, when you have been working on something ALL DAY, the last thing you want to do is cook dinner. So, while I was busily working away in my kitchen, I ventured into unfamiliar territory and attempted to think ahead…I was in rare form. I had actually thawed an entire bag of boneless/skinless chicken breasts the night before and in my brief moment of forethought and efficiency, decided to roast them in the oven for supper. I love roasting chicken because you just throw them gals on a pan, season with salt, pepper and thyme and throw them in the oven. The problem is that it works so much better with bone-in/skin-on chicken. They stay moist and succulent….and make it far more likely to avoid the situation I found myself in yesterday. All my efforts to plan ahead and make things easier for myself all came to a grinding, screeching halt as I realized #1…I had set my oven to 400* and it should have been around 375*….#2….I had forgotten to set a timer. AAAAAHHH!!!!! Ok, so how many of us have dried the life out of a bird??? I know I am not alone in this. So, what to do???? Thankfully, it wasn’t quite that dry….it wasn’t like it was juicy, but it wasn’t like the Mojave Desert either. Ok, so my solution was, first, I reheated tacos for Chris cause I knew he wouldn’t touch it. Second, I rescued my less-than-moist chicken with a lovely dip that hales from Greece called, Tzatziki! YES! Left-over Tzatziki! It was quite lovely. I’ll include the recipe below. Tzatziki to my chicken was like gravy to so many pot roasts that have been robbed of moisture…it provides just enough lube to revitalize the life of the suffering protein. Success! The boys ate it and it really wasn’t that bad. I completed the meal with fried potatoes with chopped fresh parsley and green onion tops. Fresh herbs have such a way of adding a lovely brightness to something that is typically a little on the heavy side. I finished it off with a salad and voila! Dry bird rescue mission #1 complete.

So, today I was inspired by my cousin Ashley Spillis to attempt…for the 5627th time…meal planning. We are so out of groceries, it’s kind of pathetic and I was DETERMINED to make this trip to WalMart worthwhile. So, out came all the cook books and I found myself up to my eyeballs in culinary literature. I prayed God would inspire me as I perused the pages. I was actually enjoying my gastronomic research when I looked up at the clock….oh no! Lunch time! As I mentioned before, we are really out of everything and I went into panic mode. Open pantry, nothing…pace the kitchen floor…open fridge…nada. Wait a minute, last night’s dry bird was lying there on the shelf in a ziplock bag….I have no choice. Out comes the bird. Rescue mission #2…today’s plan for moisture revitalization….Mayo! Yes ma’am, Mayonnaise! Woo Hoo! Chicken Salad to the rescue!!!!! Pictures follow…

So, as I mentioned, this is a tale of what not to do. I am no Martha Stewart but I tried to use what resources I had to salvage that poor ol’ dry bird. If anything, I hope this gives you a laugh and possibly even makes you feel better about your own kitchen mishaps! God Bless!!!!

~Shanna

Tzatziki
2 cups sour cream
2 cups yogurt
2-3 garlic cloves
2 cucumbers
olive oil
lemon juice/zest

Peel cucumbers, cut long-ways and spoon out seeds. Shred cucumbers with cheese grater, then place in a wire mesh strainer over a bowl. Allow as much liquid to drain as possible…at least an hour. Squeeze the mess out of it and place in a bowl. Using same technique, place a coffee filter over wire mesh strainer and drain whey off of yogurt…also at least an hour. Add yogurt, sour cream and remaining ingredients to the bowl and mix well. Serve immediately or allow flavors to mingle in the fridge for an hour or two.

Leave a Reply

